Data Excellence

CREATING BEST-IN-CLASS DATA QUALITY IN A FAMILY-OWNED GROUP IN THE CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY

Challenge

With the introduction of a BI system issues regarding data quality and information flow through systems became apparent. Hence, the CEO of a family-owned group in the construction industry asked us to advice on data excellence and optimization of information flows.

VALUE TO THE CLIENT

By optimizing data quality and information flows, the first phase to a holistic data management system was established. Due to the increasing importance of data for corporate management and competitiveness, we enabled our customer to optimize data and exploit existing potentials.

OUR APPROACH

To achieve best-in-class data quality, we applied our data-management-system framework including the following key components:

  1. roles and responsibilities
  2. processes and methods
  3. data structure and
  4. data applications.

This also includes the definition of the underlying information need and identification of key figures for performance monitoring of data quality. Based on this framework we have built a comprehensive analysis covering all elements of data quality: accuracy, consistency, completeness, timeliness and availability. Data quality issues were identified, evaluated and prioritized on a timeline.

Furthermore, we introduced process mining software to visualize as-is information flows through systems as well as Robotic Process Automation (RPA) as a solution for process gaps between systems. With the launch of a data quality roadshow, we facilitated communication throughout the organization and sharpened employees’ awareness for the importance of data quality.

WHAT COMES NEXT

The next step is the anchoring of a data management team within the organization. This will enable the customer to continuously monitor data quality and to derive and implement optimization potentials. Therefore, also process mining and RPA will be further integrated by setting up specialized teams.

Data Excellence

SCHAFFUNG EXZELLENTER DATENQUALITÄT IN EINEM FAMILIENGEFÜHRTEN BAUUNTERNEHMEN

Herausforderung

Mit der Einführung eines BI-Systems wurden Herausforderungen der Datenqualität und Informationsflüsse transparent. Daher beauftragte uns der CEO eines familiengeführten Bauunternehmens mit der Beratung in den Bereichen Datenexzellenz und Optimierung von Informationsflüssen.

DER WERT FÜR DEN KUND:INNEN

Durch die Optimierung der Datenqualität und der Informationsflüsse wurde der erste Schritt zu einem ganzheitlichen Datenmanagementsystem gesetzt. Aufgrund der zunehmenden Bedeutung von Daten für die Unternehmensführung und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit haben wir es unserem Kunden ermöglicht, Daten zu optimieren und vorhandene Potenziale auszuschöpfen.

UNSER ANSATZ

Um exzellente Datenqualität zu erreichen, haben wir unser Data-Management-System-Framework angewendet, welches aus folgenden Schlüsselkomponenten besteht:
  1. Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten
  2. Prozesse und Methoden
  3. Datenstruktur und
  4. Datenapplikationen.

Dazu zählt auch die Definition des zugrunde liegenden Informationsbedarfs und die Ermittlung von Kennzahlen für die Überwachung der Datenqualität. Basierend auf diesem Framework haben wir eine umfassende Analyse erstellt, die alle Elemente der Datenqualität abdeckt: Korrektheit, Konsistenz, Vollständigkeit, Aktualität und Verfügbarkeit. Die identifizierten Datenqualitätsprobleme wurden bewertet und auf einer Zeitschiene priorisiert.

Darüber hinaus führten wir sowohl Process Mining zur Visualisierung von Informationsflüssen als auch Robotic Process Automation (RPA) ein. Mit der Etablierung einer Datenqualitäts-Roadshow haben wir die Projektziele im gesamten Unternehmen kommuniziert und Bewusstsein bei Mitarbeiter:innen für die Bedeutung von Datenqualität geschaffen.

Was Folgt?

Der nächste Schritt ist die Verankerung eines Teams mit der Aufgabe des Managements von Daten innerhalb der Organisation. Dies ermöglicht es dem Kunden, die Datenqualität kontinuierlich zu überwachen, Optimierungspotenziale abzuleiten und umzusetzen.
Daher werden auch Process Mining und RPA durch spezialisierte Teams in der Organisation integriert.