Controlling Transformation

REDESIGN OF THE CONTROLLING FUNCTION OF A FAMILY OWNED GROUP:
CREATING A STATE-OF-THE-ART CONTROLLING FUNCTION TAILORED TO THE GROUP´S STRATEGY AND THE NEEDS OF ITS BUSINESS SEGMENTS.

OUR APPROACH

We started with understanding the management’s steering philosophy including the depth and breadth of the steering model on the corporate as well as on the business segment level.
Based on this input, we crafted a blueprint of the firm’s steering information portfolio. We analyzed necessary changes to the controlling organization, controlling processes, and information technology in order to produce, manage, and maintain the information portfolio.

The scope of this project included a strategy part, an organizational and process transformation part and a technology part. Through the project we redesigned corporate planning, corporate budgeting, and internal reporting including the corresponding organizational, process and technological structures and operations. We adviced the client during the implementation of a comprehensive business intelligence and planning technology.

VALUE TO THE CLIENT

The client was able to align its steering strategy with its controlling function.
The controlling function shifted its focus from planning and reporting to analyzing and steering.
Controllers were embedded in a business partnering role on the operational business unit level as counterparts to the operational management.

The corporate planning process was shortened significantly, and the financial depth and quality of information were significantly increased through the implementation of the steering information portfolio.
Transparency was increased through the redesign of corporate budgeting and internal reporting.

The implementation of a state-of-the-art business intelligence technology created an ‘information core’, which is used as a ‘single source of truth’ for steering information. It also enhanced the client’s planning, reporting, and data analytics capabilities.

WHAT COMES NEXT?

A central outcome of the project was the need to integrate operational and non-financial information into the newly built information core in order to fulfill the new role as business partners. We assist the client in integrating additional layers of operational information into the redesigned controlling function.

Controlling Transformation

NEUGESTALTUNG DER CONTROLLINGFUNKTION EINER FAMILIENGEFÜHRTEN UNTERNEHMENSGRUPPE:

GESTALTUNG EINER HOCHMODERNEN CONTROLLINGFUNKTION, DIE AUF DIE UNTERNEHMENSSTRATEGIE UND DIE BEDÜRFNISSE DER GESCHÄFTSBEREICHE ABGESTIMMT IST.

Unser Ansatz

Ausgangspunkt des Projektes war die Analyse der Unternehmenssteuerung. Dabei beleuchteten wir das definierte Steuerungsmodell − sowohl auf Unternehmens- als auch auf Geschäftsfeldebene.
Auf dieser Grundlage erstellten wir einen Blueprint des lenkenden Informationsportfolios des Unternehmens. Dafür bewerteten wir notwendige Änderungen an der Organisation, den Prozessen des Controllings sowie der Informationstechnologie.

Das Projekt umfasste damit sowohl strategische und organisationale Aufgaben als auch Technologien und die Transformation von Prozessen. Im Rahmen des Projektes gestalteten wir die Unternehmensplanung und –budgetierung sowie das interne Berichtswesen. Hierfür wurden entsprechende organisatorische, prozessuale und technologische Strukturen und Abläufe geschaffen.
Wir begleiteten die Implementierung einer umfassenden Business-Intelligence- und Planungs-Lösung.

Der Wert für den KUND:INNEN

Der Kunde konnte die Controllingfunktion an der Strategie zur Unternehmenssteuerung ausrichten. Das Controlling richtete den Fokus von der Planung und dem Reporting hin zur Analyse und Steuerung. Zudem übernahm die Einheit die Rolle als Business-Partner auf Ebene der operativen Geschäftseinheiten.

Der unternehmensweite Planungsprozess wurde deutlich verkürzt, und die Tiefe und Qualität der Finanzinformationen wurden durch die Einführung des Informationsportfolios maßgeblich erhöht.
Die Neugestaltung der Unternehmensplanung und des internen Reportings sorgte für die notwendige Transparenz.

Die Implementierung einer hochmodernen Business-Intelligence-Lösung ermöglichte die Zusammenführung von Informationen zur Unternehmenssteuerung und formte einen ‚Single Point of Truth‘. Die Technologie war auch Grundlage für den Aufbau von Fähigkeiten im Bereich Planung, Reporting und Datenanalyse.

Was kommt als nächstes?

Ein zentrales Ergebnis des Projektes war die Notwendigkeit, operative und nicht-finanzielle Informationen in den neu aufgebauten ‚Single Point of Truth‘ zu integrieren. Dies ermöglicht es der Controlling-Einheit, die Rolle als Geschäftspartner zu erfüllen. Wir unterstützen den Kunden dabei, zusätzliche Informationsebenen in die neu gestaltete Controlling-Funktion zu integrieren.